Metabones EF to Micro Four Thirds Speedbooster S: Initial Thoughts & Photos

After selling my Nikon G Speedbooster in order to wait for the EF version, I finally got around to getting another one. I only had a single Nikon lens at the time so it didn’t make much lens. Now with the EF version, I’m able to use nearly all of my SLR lenses. And I have to say: I’m quite pleased. This is the S version, designed specifically to work with the Olympus OM-D series.
_DSC7193

Canon FDn 135mm f/2 Speedboosted to 96mm f/1.4

Here are some shots with a few of my fast telephotos so far:

Wide Open

Minolta MC 58mm f/1.2 + SB = 41mm f/.9 (82mm f/1.8 FF-equivalent)

Canon FD 135mm f/2 + SB = 96mm f/1.4 (191mm f/2.8 FF-equivalent)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nikon 200mm f/2 +SB = 142mm f/1.4 (284mm f/2.8 FF-equivalent)

I know. They’re not the greatest pieces of photography, but I’m encouraged with what I’ve seen so far. No quality degradation to speak of. And there’s definitely a resolution improvement. I have more lenses to test, but I’m quite optimistic about what I’m seeing. Not to mention the appeal of micro four thirds lenses that are very nearly equivalent to some standard telephoto’s (200mm f/2.8 & 300mm f/2.8).

I’ve done little more than a bit of random shooting and I’m looking forward to getting out and doing more than snap shots. Still, I’m extremely pleased. I’m eager to get the Canon FD 85mm f/1.2L out for a spin soon. On the wide end, I don’t really have anything that would particularly stand out. The initial test shots with my Canon FD 20-35mm f/3.5L looks good, but there isn’t a whole lot of appeal in a 14-25mm f/2.5 lens when the native options are about the same speed with a larger focal range (granted, I don’t have any of those lenses…).

Some other notes:

The Nikon was never really useable on μ43 and now it looks pretty nice, though still not up to the level of quality on my A7. I’m especially happy with the Canon FD 135mm f/2. It looks awesome wide open (though focusing is hard). The Minolta looks excellent, too. Definitely less CA & spherical aberration than it has on a regular adapter. The only downside is that with a lens like that, that’s already super fast, the would-be shutter speed gain between f/1.2 and f/.9 is lost on a digital sensor because of pixel shading.
For those wondering…all my FD lenses were converted to EF mount back when I had my 5d, that’s how I’m using them now on the EF speedbooster. To be honest, I was more than a little disappointed when the Speedbooster was announced. I regretted having converted my FD lenses. Now, however, I’d say I made the right decision. Buying the FD speedbooster would have prevented me from using other lenses on it, too. While there is a Nikon to FD mount adapter, there is no OM to FD adapter, or Minolta to FD adapter. But with EF, you can pretty much find an adapter for anything. So now I only need a single Speedbooster and I can use essentially all my lenses.
Leave a Reply

