A two lens kit

Well, I’m hoping that it will be a three lens kit rather soon, but for now, it’s a two lens kit. One of the purposes of micro four thirds is compact size and to that ends, pancake lenses have been quite popular, especially the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7.

One of the main reasons I picked up the Voigtlander 35mm f/2.5 pancake was so that I could have a pancake trinity to go along with my OM-D. The third lens will end up being the Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 eventually, but that will have to wait. There are other bills to pay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the meantime, though, these two lenses make for a rather nice little pair. The camera fits nicely in my jacket pocket with a lens in my trousers pockets. Perfect. And I’ve enjoyed trying them out together over the past two weeks. I still find the colours quite nice on the Voigtlander

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OM-D ISO200 35mm f/4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OM-D ISO200 35mm f/8

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OM-D ISO200 35mm f/2.5

It works extremely well as a short telephoto (70mm equivalent) and is just long enough for nice head shot portraits, though I haven’t had an opportunity for that just yet. The closest to a portrait was this candid shot I got of a small boy eating lunch at a Starbucks (his mom was getting her drink):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OM-D ISO200 f/2.5

As you can see, overcast sky has returned to the Fraser Valley and summer is over. It was bound to happen.

The only real disappointment with the lens—and I was fully aware of this limitation before I bought it—is the rather long minimum focusing distance of 70cm. That’s pretty standard for rangefinders and that’s what this lens is designed for. But it was a sacrifice worth making, already having the Panasonic 20mm to fill in that gap. It may be a good bit wider than the 35mm, but its minimum focusing distance is 20cm. Between that and its larger aperture, it makes up for any faults of the Voigtlander.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OM-D ISO200 f/5.6

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OM-D ISO200 f/1.7

All in all, I’m quite happy with the pair. They’ve done great work so far as my minimalist/portable kit and I’m looking forward to continuing to enjoy them through the winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OM-D ISO200 20mm f/5 1/80

Leave a Reply

