Photographing the Mundane

We get a lot of rainy days out here in Vancouver. That often means that I’m quite trapped in doors when it comes to practicing photography. To make up for it, one of the things I enjoy dong is macro photography of mundane objects in order to see what appears beyond the normal range of my own eyes. I had a particularly successful attempt when I pointed my lens at a drip well beneath the burner of the stove.

What’s odd is that this particular well wasn’t excessively discoloured, nor did it have any kind of rough texture to it. As for as I could tell, it was perfectly smooth. But at a 1:1 magnification ratio, the total effect was absolutely incredible, particularly since 1:1 results in an image on double the size of what you’d get on a 35mm camera.

All of these were shot with a Nikon Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D mounted on a Panasonic G2. I can’t remember the apertures used since there is no electronic contacts. The depth of field is incredibly narrow and the curved surface of these drip pans makes it essentially impossible to get a flat entirely in-focus image. Nevertheless, I’m quite pleased with the result. The entire endeavor has encouraged me to continue to explore my home when the weather isn’t cooperating with any other photography desires I might have.

Corrosion 3 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 3 by Mike Aubrey

Corrosion 4 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 4 by Mike Aubrey

Corrosion 5 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 5 by Mike Aubrey

Corrosion 9 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 9 by Mike Aubrey

Corrosion 1 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 1 by Mike Aubrey

Corrosion 11 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 11 by Mike Aubrey

Corrosion 13 by Mike Aubrey (MAubrey) on 500px.comCorrosion 13 by Mike Aubrey

One thought on “Photographing the Mundane

Leave a Reply

